Uncategorized Candidate forum draws large turnout

Candidate forum draws large turnout


OSAGE CITY—A crowd of over 80 people, comprised mostly of Osage County voters, gathered July 19 at the Osage County Seniors Center for an opportunity to meet and ask questions of the candidates who will be on the Republican primary election ballot Aug. 2. The “Meet the Candidates Forum” was sponsored by the Osage County Republican Central Committee.

“The event provided a chance for local citizens to meet the candidates who will be on the ballot for the primary election, to learn about the candidates and to hear their views of various issues related to the position to which they hope to be elected,” said Dana Webber, vice-chair of the Central Committee.

Each candidate was allowed approximately four minutes to speak about their qualifications and plans for the office. They also had approximately three minutes to answer any questions from the audience.

Kansas congressional candidates were represented by Josh Berg, field director for United States Senator Jerry Moran and Lee Modesitt, campaign manager for United States Congresswoman Lynn Jenkins.

Candidates seeking election to state offices that addressed the audience were Zach Haney, Senate District 19; incumbent candidate Representative Ken Corbet, Kansas House District 54; Eric Smith who is seeking election to House District 76, a position formerly held by Peggy Mast and Sue Moellenkamp, who is working to be elected to the Kansas State Board of Education.

On the local level, two of the three current county commissioners, Gaylord Anderson, second district and Ken Kuykendall, third district are running for re-election and briefly spoke with the audience on multiple issues.

The offices of County Sheriff, County Register of Deeds and County Treasurer have competition in the primary election. Both incumbents and challengers shared their views and qualifications at the forum. Candidates for Sheriff are Marty Kane and incumbent Laurie Dunn. Candidates for Register of Deeds are Rose Hearn and incumbent Linda Massey. Candidates for Treasurer are Lexie Fager, Tamara Massey and incumbent Shari Weber.

The statewide primary election will be held Aug. 2. Advance voting is now open. With advance voting, any registered voter can vote by mail or in person before Election Day. Additional information is available from the County Clerk’s office in Lyndon (785) 828-4812.

Latest news

Richard E. Watson

Richard E. Watson Oct. 2, 1944 – Jan. 9, 2020 CARROLLTON, Texas — Richard E. Watson, 75, died Thursday, Jan. 9,...

Jan. 16 – PDF Edition

An Overbook native is competing for the Ford Hall of Fans with a trip to the Super Bowl at...

Shirley Ann Kinnett

Shirley Ann Kinnett March 22, 1945 – Jan. 7, 2020 TOPEKA — Shirley Ann Kinnett, Scranton, died Tuesday, Jan. 7, 2020,...

Marianne Waterman Haag

Marianne Waterman Haag Sept. 4, 1930 – Jan. 9, 2020 OSAGE CITY — Marianne Waterman Haag died Thursday, Jan. 9, 2020,...

Charles S. “Pete” Peterson

Charles S. "Pete" Peterson April 14, 1933 – Jan. 11, 2020 BURLINGAME — Charles S. "Pete" Peterson, formerly of Burlingame, died...

Dale H. Stout

Dale H. Stout Dec. 16, 1933 – Dec. 16, 1933 TOPEKA — Dale H. Stout, Topeka, died Thursday, Jan. 9, 2020....
- Advertisement -

Must read

No burning allowed

No burning Jan. 7 - 9 Bryce Romine, Osage County...

Winter Sports Preview

Check out area high school teams in our Winter...

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you